Browse Collections Artists Sources   Search Dates

Add Show    List Management    Help

U2 ??/??/90
Working Tapes - Achtung Baby outtakes, Various, Various
Set I
Mine is the 3 disc version, different track listing than below
1. Turn Around
2. Where Did You Go?
3. She's Gonna Take You Down
4. Here Come the Changes
5. Nothing Feels Like This
6. Wake Up Dead Man
7. Sick For Love
8. Seize the Day
9. Even Better That the Real Thing (Instrumental)
10. Acrobat (different take)
11. Wake Up Dead Man With the Spinning Head
Set II
This is a great-sounding set of tunes, most of which are entirely different material from what finally showed up on "Achtung Baby". There are stains of some tunes you'll recognize filtering through these arrangements. The liner notes for this "Made in Zaire" bootleg (yes, ZAIRE!) are as follows:

"In the winter of 1990, U2 were in Berlin hard at work in the studio. The result of this effort would be the 1991 release of Achtung Baby. However, by the end of December the album was far from being ready.
Unlike most bands, U2 entered into the studio with very few songs or lyrics at all. Being the Supergroup they are allowed them the luxury that very few ever have of entering the studio to write and create as well as record. Since the entire process was taking place in a recording studio, it was all captured on tape.The highlights of these tapes were then edited down and compiled into what the band used and referred to as their "working tape".
In April of 1991, the tape found its way into the public arena. Since then, the U2 "working tapes" have been available in various forms, usually totalling more than three and a half hours.
The problem for most people like myself was that though this was indeed a unique view into the minds and process of U2, it was difficult to wade through all the repetive takes, looping, and bits that may have been important for the band but was certainly never intended to be heard by anyone else.
In the back of my mind I always wished someone would edit the material down, picking the best takes and including the more worthwhile outtakes and especially the songs that had changed so much from what is heard here to the official-release version. Well, here it is. I hope you enjoy this half as much as I do. Sit back, relax, and listen to one of the greatest bands ever to evolve and make music right before your ears.


Mr. N.M. Whiskers
Last Changed By
Click 'Edit Show' or the 'Set I(II)(III)' or 'Comment' text to make corrections.
If this is a duplicate or incorrect entry and should be merged, use the Request Merge page.